The mess comes when you eat it 🙂

This is a nice alternative to meat for lunch or dinner.  I’m not a cheese connoisseur, but give me two slices of grilled halloumi and I will be sorely tempted to eat the whole block (I never have for I am not a ….. glutton….)

IMG_0123[1]

 

Ingredients for 1 simple burger 

  • 2 decently thick slices of halloumi
  • 3 thin slices of aubergine (eggplant)
  • 2 slices of red onion
  • 3 slices cucumber
  • 2 slivers of avocado
  • A handful of rocket
  • 1 roll of your choice (I’m in love with Warburtons Soft Seeded rolls because of the low sugar content)
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • A little aïoli and chili sauce of your preference

Method

  1. Put the onions in the balsamic vinegar for a few minutes. Drain then add the halloumi, aubergine and onion to a baking tray and place under a hot grill until the halloumi starts to bubble and brown slightly.
  2. On your bun, spread some aioli on one side.  The grand assembly order I go for:
  • Aubergine first
  • Cucumber next
  • Avocado
  • Onion followed by the halloumi
  • Top with rocket and some chilli sauce

Could something so tasty be so simple?  Yes!

Tash

 

Leave a comment